Early Summer Brunch

Summer squash season has begun!! I never used to like these veggies but zucchini noodles eased me in until before I knew it I was hooked! This was a simple brunch that I made to celebrate these beauties which have begun appearing at the farmer’s market.

summersquasheggs

Eggs and Summer Squash

2-3 eggs

2 summer squash (I used one yellow and one zucchini)

2 pieces bacon

4-5 baby bellas or 1 portabella cap, sliced

tablespoon coconut oil

salt and pepper to taste

1/2 Avocado (optional)

 

Preheat oven to 400 F. Melt coconut oil in a large oven-safe bowl in the preheating oven. When oil has melted, remove the bowl from the oven and add salt and pepper to the oil.

Slice the squashes. I went lengthwise but it doesn’t really matter as long as the slices are pretty even in thickness. Add the slices to the oil in the bowl and toss well to coat the slices. Layer them evenly on a parchment-lined baking sheet and put in the oven. The timing depends on your preferences and oven, but I roasted for 10 minutes per side, then flipped back to the original side for another 3-5 minutes. (About 25 minutes total).

While the squash cooks, fry the bacon in a pan on the stove. Set it aside when done but leave the grease in the pan. Add the sliced mushrooms to the hot bacon grease and saute them. I like my mushrooms really well done so I cook them for about 10 minutes, but you can certainly shorten the time to a few minutes. Whisk the eggs together in a bowl, then add these to the mushrooms in the pan. Cook as scrambled eggs.

Serve all together with some sliced avocado if you like. Enjoy summer!

2 thoughts on “Early Summer Brunch

  1. Pingback: CFSR WOD 07.31.2013 | CrossFit San Ramon

Leave a Reply

